A new solar Challenge in Morocco

A new solar Challenge in Morocco

For Team Sonnenwagen Aachen, sustainable mobility concepts and solar technologies are crucial for the future. As an association of enthusiastic students, the team would like to make a collective effort to help achieve this. Therefore, it is developing a new solar car for worldwide participation in emission-free races.

Normally, the team would be preparing for the 2021 World Solar Challenge (WSC) in Australia, building a solar car that can cross the entire continent. However, the pandemic has not passed the Aachen students by. Due to the current situation, this year’s WSC was cancelled. However, the team did not let this affect them. From the beginning it was clear: a new solar car will be built.

After the cancellation, the European solar teams teamed up with the experienced rally organizer “Classic Events” to create a new event – the Solar Challenge Morocco 2021 (SCM). The Challenge will challenge solar racing teams to demonstrate their technical innovations and years of experience in solar-powered technology in Morocco in October 2021. In anticipation of a competitive race, the Aachen-based team will compete in the Challenge with the newly developed Sonnenwagen 3. Only those who have developed the most innovative and efficient solar car and can withstand the challenges of Morocco will be victorious.

Team Sonnenwagen Aachen is an association of students from RWTH Aachen University and FH Aachen University who develop and build highly efficient solar cars themselves to show what tomorrow’s mobility could look like. Driven by a strong pioneering spirit and an enthusiasm for sustainable, innovative and efficient technologies, the third generation Sonnenwagen is currently being built in their workshop in Aachen. The race car incorporates 2 years of development, more than 6 years of experience and financial as well as technical support from several partners from the German and international industry.

The concept

“The SCM 2021 is a brand-new challenge for us,” says Simon Quinker, 2nd chairman of the association, “The event offers the opportunity for us to co-create a Solar Challenge to demonstrate our technical innovations in a new environment.”

The SCM has it all with its 5 stages over a combined 2500km in 5 days. The starting and finishing point of the race, which runs on public roads and through the Sahara

Desert, is Agadir, a port city in southern Morocco.

New format, new challenges

Compared to the World Solar Challenge in Australia, there are significant differences in Morocco:

In contrast to the WSC, where the teams drove through in one piece, the SCM is divided into different stages. The 5 respective stage times decide the winner of the race.

In an unknown country there are different circumstances. For the German team it will be the first time in Morocco and on the African continent. Many preparations must be made for this. The entire supply, accommodation and logistics of a 45-member team, a high-tech solar car and a portable workshop have to be planned for several weeks – all this from a distance.

Despite the huge challenge, Team Sonnenwagen is more motivated than ever and is in the midst of preparations for the upcoming challenge. With enthusiasm and determination, the team is charging towards the front of the field in Morocco.

Schedule

– Qualifying rounds: October 23 – 24, 2021

– Test runs: October 16 – 22, 2021

– Ceremonial and official start: October 25, 2021

– Finish and award ceremony: October 29, 2021

 

For more information, visit www.sonnenwagen.org and https://classicevents.nl/event/solar-challenge-2021/

Eine neue Solar Challenge in Marokko

Eine neue Solar Challenge in Marokko

 

Für Team Sonnenwagen Aachen steht fest, nachhaltige Mobilitätskonzepte und Solartechnologie sind entscheidend für die Zukunft. Als Verein begeisterter Studierender möchte das Team gemeinsam einen Beitrag dazu leisten. Darum entwickelt es ein Solarauto zur weltweiten Teilnahme an emissionsfreien Rennen.

Normalerweise würde sich das Team auf die World Solar Challenge 2021 (WSC) in Australien vorbereiten und ein Solarauto bauen, das den ganzen Kontinent durchqueren kann. Die Pandemie ist jedoch nicht an den Aachener Studierenden vorbeigegangen. Aufgrund der aktuellen Lage wurde die diesjährige WSC abgesagt. Davon hat sich das Team aber nicht geschlagen gegeben. Von Anfang an stand fest: ein neues Solarauto wird gebaut.

Nach der Absage haben sich die europäischen Solarteams mit dem erfahrenen Rally Organisator „Classic Events“ zusammengetan, um ein neues Event zu erschaffen – die Solar Challenge Morocco 2021 (SCM). Bei der Challenge werden die Solarrennteams herausgefordert, ihre technischen Innovationen und langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der solarbetriebenen Technologie im Oktober 2021 in Marokko unter Beweis zu stellen. In Erwartung auf einen kompetitiven Wettkampf wird der Aachener Verein bei der Challenge mit dem neu entwickelten Sonnenwagen 3 antreten. Nur wer das innovativste und effizienteste Solarauto entwickelt hat und den Herausforderungen Marokkos standhält, wird als Sieger hervorgehen.

Team Sonnenwagen Aachen ist ein Verein Studierender der RWTH und FH Aachen, die hocheffiziente Solarrenwagen selbst entwickeln und bauen, um zu zeigen, wie die Mobilität von morgen aussehen kann. Angetrieben von einem starken Pioniergeist und einer Begeisterung für nachhaltige, innovative und effiziente Technologien wird in Ihrer Werkstatt in Aachen gerade der Sonnenwagen der dritten Generation gebaut. In dem Rennwagen stecken 2 Jahre Entwicklung, mehr als 6 Jahre Erfahrung und finanzielle wie auch technische Unterstützung mehrerer Partner aus der deutschen und internationalen Industrie.

Das Konzept

„Die SCM 2021 ist eine ganz neue Herausforderung für uns“, so Simon Quinker, 2. Vorsitzender des Vereins, „Das Event bietet uns die Möglichkeit eine Solar Challenge mitzugestalten, um unsere technischen Innovationen in einer neuen Umgebung zu demonstrieren.“

Die SCM hat es mit Ihren 5 Etappen über zusammen 2500km in 5 Tagen in sich. Start und Ziel des, über öffentliche Straßen und durch die Sahara verlaufenden, Rennens ist Agadir, eine Hafenstadt im Süden Marokkos.

Neues Format, neue Herausforderungen

Im Vergleich zur World Solar Challenge in Australien gibt es in Marokko wesentliche Unterschiede:

Im Gengensatz zur WSC, wo die Teams an einem Stück durchgefahren sind, teilt sich die SCM in verschieden Etappen auf. Die 5 jeweiligen Etappenzeiten entscheiden über den Sieger des Rennens.

In einem unbekannten Land herrschen andere Umstände. Für das deutsche Team wird es das erste Mal in Marokko und auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent sein. Hierfür müssen viele Vorbereitungen getroffen werden. Es gilt die gesamte Versorgung, Unterkunft und Logistik eines 45-köpfigen Teams, einem hochtechnologischen Solarrenwagen und einer portablen Werkstatt für mehrere Wochen zu planen – das alles aus der Ferne.

Obgleich der großen Herausforderung, ist das Team Sonnenwagen motivierter denn je und steckt mitten in den Vorbereitungen für die anstehende Challenge. Mit Begeisterung und Entschlossenheit greift das Team in Marokko ganz vorne an.

Zeitplan

  • Wertungsläufe: 23. – 24. Oktober 2021
  • Testläufe: 16. bis 22. Oktober 2021
  • Zeremonieller und offizieller Start: 25. Oktober 2021
  • Zieleinlauf und Siegerehrung: 29. Oktober 2021

 

Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter www.sonnenwagen.org und https://classicevents.nl/event/solar-challenge-2021/