History

Today

2019
October 20

Bridgestone World Solar Challenge

The World Solar Challenge 2019 started with optimal conditions. Not only that we were able to achieve the best top speed on the race track in Hidden Valley, but we were also able to start the race in third place. Due to wind and weather..Read More
July 20

Covestro Sonnenwagen

The Covestro Sonnenwagen was presented to the public for the first time on 22 July 2019. The new generation was not only able to build on what the founding generation laid the foundations for, but also to make an enormous leap in development. The rollout..Read More
2018
September 12

iLumen European Solar Challenge 2018

On Sunday at 13.8. oct 2018 we finally reached the finish line after 147 laps on the former Formula 1 race track in Zolder. The aim of this race is not only to cover the greatest possible distance within 24 hours, but also to score..Read More
January 8

Next Generation

At the general meeting on 14.12.2017 a new board of directors was elected. The founding team handed over the symbolic baton to the new generation of Sonnenwagen Aachen.
2017
October 4

Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 2017

With the starting signal on 8.10.2017, the race over 3022 km from Darwin to Adelaide through the Australian outback began – powered solely by solar energy. During the race, extreme climatic conditions such as intense heat, crosswinds, thunderstorms and rain presented us with great challenges...Read More
August 18

Sonnenwagen takes off

After two years of hard work we have managed to finish our Huawei Soonnenwagen. On August 18, 2017 we presented our first sun carriage with our sponsors in Aachen. The main focus was on the history of its creation.
2016
November 18

Sonnenwagen Day

Together with Huawei, all interested parties were invited to the HUAWEI Sonnenwagen Day in the main building of the RWTH Aachen University. In the presence of NRW science minister Svenja Schulze and Professor Feldhusen, dean of the faculty of mechanical engineering, we unveiled our vehicle..Read More
2015
July 5

Founding

The place where all began? Our headquarter apartment. Out of a passionate discussion, a small spark arose quite quickly which lit a fire in all of us. It didn’t take long until someone said what we all thought for a while: “We can do that..Read More

History

Today

2019
Oktober 20

Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 2019

Die World Solar Challenge 2019 startete mit den optimalen Vorraussetzungen. Nicht nur dass wir auf der Rennstrecke in Hidden Valley den besten Top Speed hinlegen konnten, sondern konnten auch als dritter ins Rennen starten. Durch Wind und Wetter lieferten wir uns ein spannendes Rennen. Am..Weiterlesen
Juli 20

Covestro Sonnenwagen

Am 22.Juli 2019 wurde der Covestro Sonnenwagen erstmalig der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Die neue Generation konnte nicht nur auf dem aufbauen, bei welchem die Gründergeneration die Grundsteine gelegt hat, sondern auch einen ernormen Sprung in der Entwicklung hinlegen. Zum Rollout des Covestro Sonnenwagen kam sogar der..Weiterlesen
2018
September 12

iLumen European Solar Challenge 2018

Am Sonntag um 13 Uhr 8. Okt 2018 erreichten wir schließlich nach 147 Runden, auf der ehemaligen Formel-1- Rennstrecke in Zolder, die Ziellinie. Ziel dieses Rennens ist es, nicht nur eine größtmögliche Distanz innerhalb von 24 Stunden zurückzulegen, sondern auch mit Innovationen in der Fahrzeugentwicklung,..Weiterlesen
Januar 8

Next Generation

Bei der Mitgliederversammlung am 14.12.2017 wurde ein neuer Vorstand gewählt. Dabei übergab das Gründerteam den sinnbildlichen Staffelstab an die neue Generation von Sonnenwagen Aachen.
2017
Oktober 4

Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 2017

Mit dem Startschuss am 8.10.2017 begann das Rennen über 3022 km von Darwin nach Adelaide durch das australische Outback – angetrieben allein durch Sonnenenergie. Während des Rennens stellten extreme klimatische Bedingungen wie starke Hitze, Seitenwinde, Gewitter und Regen uns vor große Herausforderungen. Getragen von einem..Weiterlesen
August 18

Sonnenwagen hebt ab

Nach zwei Jahren harter Arbeit ist es uns gelungen, unseren Huawei Sonnenwagen fertigzustellen. Am 18. August 2017 haben wir unseren ersten Sonnenwagen mit unseren Sponsoren in Aachen vorgestellt. Dabei stand besonders die Entstehungsgeschichte im Vordergrund.
2016
November 18

Sonnenwagentag

Gemeinsam mit Huawei wurden alle Interessierten zum HUAWEI Sonnenwagen-Tag im Hauptgebäude der RWTH Aachen eingeladen. Im Beisein von NRW-Wissenschaftsministerin Svenja Schulze und Professor Feldhusen, dem Dekan der Fakultät für Maschinenwesen, enthüllten wir unser Fahrzeugkonzept und stellten Huawei als unseren Hauptsponsor vor.
2015
Juli 5

Gründung

Der Ort des Geschehens? Unsere Headquarter-WG. Aus einer leidenschaftlichen Diskussion , entstand ziemlich schnell ein kleiner funke der sehr schnell ein Feuer in uns allen entzündete. Es dauerte nicht lange, bis jemand aussprach, was wir wohl alle schon eine Weile dachten: „Das können wir auch!“...Weiterlesen