Solar car

Our Mission

Our vision is to take part in building a better future through sustainable mobility concepts.

Electromobility is the technology of the future that is already available today.

Louis Palmer – Sustainability pioneer

True to this slogan, Team Sonnenwagen Aachen is working towards the future electromobility, inspired by the developments in sustainable mobility concepts of today. The feasibility of change from fossil fuels to renewable energy will be demonstrated through our Huawei Sonnenwagen. Our organization is based in Aachen and was established in November of 2015. Developing a solar car challenges our team constantly, more than the development of a conventional vehicle would.

In particular, the vehicle weight and the aerodynamic design are at the forefront. For this reason, lightweight construction and fiber composite materials are used – every gram counts. The in-house developed chassis minimizes wind resistance and therefore offers higher speed cruising. The solar car is powered by highly efficient solar cells and is a perfect example of regenerative energies. In cooperation with our partners from nearby industry and science, we aim to develop an efficient, reliable and safe vehicle concept.

The Sonnenwagen

The Sonnenwagen is the heart of our project.

Aerodynamic

By using various simulation tools and wind tunnel tests, we will design our solar car as streamlined as possible and reduce drag to a minimum.

Lightweight

The lightest possible vehicle weight is very critical. Therefore, we work on new concepts in cooperation with institutes of the RWTH Aachen University and FH Aachen.

Efficient

Important for the efficiency of the solar car is not only the weight and aerodynamics, but also the quality of the solar cells and the driving strategy.

How are we developing our Sonnenwagen?

Developing a solar car is a lot of work. Therefore, all our teams are working with full energy to reach our goals.

In the beginning I looked around but could not find the car I was dreaming of. So I decided to build it myself.

Ferdinand „Ferry“ Anton Ernst Porsche – Entrepreneur and engineer

We, the mechanics team, face the great challenge of building a completely new vehicle in just two years. In order to achieve this task, we have formed expert groups, depending on personal skills and experience. Those are responsible for the development and design of individual modules such as the supporting structure, suspension and aerodynamics.

Constant contact among the groups as well as a continuous exchange with the electrical engineering team is basis of our effective development work. Technical questions are discussed immediately, while the definition of interfaces is a cooperated process, working hand in hand. We are convinced, that our project will be success because of that!

Obsessed is a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated.

Russell Warren – Architect

As the electrical engineering team, we deal with the electronics of our solar car. Our focus is on the development of the photovoltaic system to produce the electricity we need, the battery storage system as a permanent energy reserve and the electric motor as the main power source.

In our regular meetings, we work on the different topics surrounding the technics of the solar car in cooperation with our colleagues from the mechanics team.

There are three responses to a piece of design – yes, no, and WOW! Wow is the one to aim for.

Milton Glaser – Graphic Designer

An aerodynamic design is indispensable to be successful in the World Solar Challenge in Australia. Our department currently consists of six students from the areas aeronautical engineering, production engineering, energy engineering and computational engineering science. Thanks to the different areas of expertise, we are well equipped for the development and optimization of the aerodynamic shell of our Sonnenwagen.

Our goal is to develop a low-resistance, driving-stable and a driving performance optimized design for our solar car. We are confident that our developmental work will produce a first class design thanks to the latest CFD simulations, wind tunnel testing, intelligent system integration and continuous optimization model.

Only one miracle per order.

Kelly Johnson – Chief Engineer SR 71 Blackbird

The construction of an outstanding solar car alone is not enough to win the World Solar Challenge in Australia. To be the first to cross the finish line, without any strategic failures, the team driving strategy is simulating the race route in advance.

These calculations help us to have an optimal driving strategy at hand during the race in any situation. In addition, we deal with weather forecasts and the communication with the support vehicles. Our team maintains a particularly close cooperation with the electrical and aerodynamics team and is the is providing advice in interpretation matters.

Solarauto

Unsere Mission

Wir haben eine Vision und diese gehört nachhaltigen Mobilitätskonzepten.

Elektromobilität ist die Technologie der Zukunft, die es heute schon gibt.

Louis Palmer – Nachhaltigkeits-Pionier

Getreu diesem Motto begeistert sich das Team Sonnenwagen aus Aachen für die Gestaltung der ökologischen Zukunft durch die Entwicklung von grünen Mobilitätskonzepten. Die Realisierbarkeit des Wandels von fossilen Energieträgern hin zu erneuerbaren Energien soll durch unser Solarauto demonstriert werden. Wir arbeiten in Aachen seit der Vereinsgründung im November 2015 an der Entwicklung eines solarbetriebenen Elektrofahrzeugs. Diese stellt unsere Teammitglieder vor ganz andere Herausforderungen als die Entwicklung eines konventionellen Fahrzeuges.

Vor allem das Fahrzeuggewicht sowie ein möglichst aerodynamisches Design stehen im Vordergrund. Aus diesem Grund kommen Leichtbaukonstruktionen und Faserverbundwerkstoffe zum Einsatz – jedes Gramm zählt. Das selbst konstruierte Fahrzeugchassis soll den Windwiderstand minimieren und für höhere Geschwindigkeiten sorgen. Der HUAWEI Sonnenwagen wird durch hocheffiziente Solarzellen angetrieben und ist so ein perfektes Beispiel für Vortrieb durch regenerative Energien. In Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern aus Industrie und der Wissenschaft erarbeiten wir ein effizientes, zuverlässiges und sicheres Fahrzeugkonzept.

Das Solarauto

Das Solarauto ist das Herzstück unseres Projektes.

Aerodynamisch

Mittels verschiedener Simulationswerkzeuge und Windkanaltests werden wir unser Solarauto möglichst stromlinienförmig designen und den Widerstandsbeiwert auf ein Minimum reduzieren.

Leicht

Ein möglichst geringes Fahrzeuggewicht ist entscheidend. Hierzu erforschen wir gemeinsam mit Instituten der RWTH und FH Aachen neue Konzepte.

Effizient

Bedeutend für die Effizienz des Solarautos ist neben dem Gewicht und der Aerodynamik vor allem die Qualität der Solarzellen und die Fahrstrategie.

Wie entwickeln wir unser Solarauto?

Ein Solarauto umzusetzen bedeutet viel Arbeit für Sonnenwagen Aachen. Alle Teams arbeiten mit voller Energie an unserem Ziel.

Am Anfang schaute ich mich um, konnte aber den Wagen, von dem ich träumte, nicht finden. Also beschloss ich, ihn mir selbst zu bauen.

Ferdinand „Ferry“ Anton Ernst Porsche – Unternehmer und Ingenieur

Wir, das Mechanik-Team, stehen vor der großen Herausforderung ein für uns völlig neues Fahrzeug in nur zwei Jahren aufzubauen. Um diese Aufgabe zu meistern haben wir Expertengruppen, abhängig der persönlichen Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen, gebildet. Diese sind für die Entwicklung und Konstruktion einzelner Baugruppen wie beispielsweise Tragstruktur, Fahrwerk und Aerodynamik zuständig.

Der ständige Kontakt der Gruppen untereinander und der kontinuierliche Austausch mit dem Elektrotechnik-Team ist die Grundlage unserer effektiven Entwicklungsarbeit. Technische Fragen klären wir unmittelbar, bei der Festlegung von Schnittstellen arbeiten wir Hand in Hand. Wir sind überzeugt: So wird unser Projekt, der HUAWEI Sonnenwagen, ein Erfolg!

Obsessed is a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated.

Russell Warren – Architekt

Im Elektrotechnik-Team beschäftigen wir uns mit der gesamten Elektronik innerhalb unseres Solarautos. Hauptschwerpunkte sind für uns die Photovoltaikanlage zur Erzeugung des Stroms, das Batteriespeichersystem als ständige Energiereserve und der Elektromotor als Hauptantriebsquelle.

Bei unseren regelmäßigen Treffen arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit den Kollegen der Mechanik an den verschiedenen Themengebieten rund um die HUAWEI Sonnenwagen-Technik.

There are three responses to a piece of design – yes, no, and WOW! Wow is the one to aim for.

Milton Glaser – Grafikdesigner

Um bei der World Solar Challenge in Australien erfolgreich zu sein, ist ein aerodynamisches Design unverzichtbar. Unsere Abteilung besteht derzeit aus sechs Studenten der Bereiche Luftfahrttechnik, Produktionstechnik, Energietechnik und Computational Engineering Science. Dank der verschiedenen Spezialgebiete sind wir bestens für die Entwicklung und Optimierung der Aerodynamikhülle unseres Solarautos gerüstet.

Unser Ziel ist es, ein widerstandsarmes, fahrstabiles und auf die Fahrleistung optimiertes Design für unser Solarauto zu entwickeln. Wir sind überzeugt, dass unsere Entwicklungsarbeit dank modernster CFD-Simulationen, Windkanaltests, intelligenter Systemintegration und fortlaufender Modelloptimierung ein erstklassiges Design hervorbringen wird.

Nur ein Wunder pro Auftrag.

Kelly Johnson – Oberingenieur SR 71 Blackbird

Allein der Bau eines herausragenden Solarautos reicht nicht aus, um in Australien das Rennen zu gewinnen. Um als erstes die Ziellinie zu überqueren und dabei nichts dem Zufall zu überlassen, lassen wir im Team Fahrstrategie unser Fahrzeug schon jetzt in Simulationen durch den Outback fahren.

Diese Berechnungen helfen uns dabei, während des Rennens in jeder Situation eine optimale Fahrstrategie zur Hand zu haben. Zusätzlich beschäftigen wir uns mit Wettervorhersagen und der Kommunikation mit den Begleitfahrzeugen. Unser Team pflegt eine besonders enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Elektrotechnik- und Aerodynamikgruppe und steht diesen bei Auslegungsfragen beratend zur Seite.